The Midweek Mix – 03/02/16 – Determination

We did it! We survived January!

What nobody tells you though, is that February can also be a bit dark and dreary. All your new year’s resolutions are long forgotten, your dreams of 2016 being “your year” are slowly slipping away and you’ve probably decided that hiding under your duvet until Spring is an adequate life plan. You are wrong.

What you really need is a determination playlist with a healthy serving of cheese. You’re welcome.

Jess Glynne – Hold My Hand

This song is an instant mood changer for me. Jess Glynne forces me to get out of my seat, dance around the room and put a positive spin on whatever rubbish might have been occupying my brain before. Sure, it might be about getting together with someone rather than being a Destiny’s Child-style independent lady, but hey, you can be strong and determined with someone by your side too. The “I CAN DO THIS” feeling is undeniable.

Arthur Beatrice – Midland

This might not be an obvious choice but I have obscured the lyrics in this song so far that it has become something of a determination classic for me. Rather than the “go get ‘em” feeling of many determination songs, Midland focuses instead on being steady, calm, standing your ground, and being stronger inside than you will ever outwardly appear.
I’ll never move, I’ll never move, I’ll always be so still.
I’ll never grow, I’ll never grow, as tall and fierce as me.
Heaven knows it’s probably not what Arthur Beatrice were getting at, but it works for me.

Starship – Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now

A classic! Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now brings back memories of singing along to this 80s classic at university club nights and bar extensions in a huge group of friends. Being in such a large, yet close friendship group is the closest I’ve ever felt to the “young and invincible” feeling that is always talked about. I felt like nothing could break us and I couldn’t really see past that time or imagine life post-university. It felt like everything to be there, just singing and dancing with friends.

Wolf Alice – Blush

For me, this song is all about having the confidence to turn your back on the things that make you unhappy, be who you really are, and go find your own potential.
Don’t chicken out, it’s all good, you’re allowed, to be what you could.

S Club 7 – Reach

A determination song I grew up on! This gets every 90s child jumping to the dance floor and believing that they really can reach for the stars. It’s a throwback to a time when you really did think anything was possible. You could be a firefighter on Monday, a ballerina on Tuesday and a brain surgeon on Wednesday. Go 90s you!

What are your determination classics?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment