The Midweek Mix – 12/08/15

Here are the five songs you need to hear this week:

Chvrches – Leave a Trace

I have high hopes for Chvrches’ new album. Leave A Trace didn’t blow me away on first listen but it has slowly crept into my mind and taken camp there. They’ve just announced their biggest London gig to date – at Ally Pally – and I really hope to be there.

Kid Wave – Honey

I discovered Kid Wave at Tramlines and they should definitely be seen live. They are an incredibly tight band and I was bopping along as if I’d been listening to them for years.

Disclosure – Omen ft. Sam Smith

It was never going to live up to Latch, but this is another great collaboration from Disclosure and Sam Smith that you can expect to hear on repeat in every shopping centre up and down the UK.

Slaves – Sockets

We all know that I love Slaves. My boyfriend has been singing the lyrics “It wasn’t her fault, she made sugar taste like salt” on a loop for the last month and yet I still haven’t got bored of hearing Sockets and watching the slightly gross, slightly mad and slightly genius video. They are the face of British punk in 2015.

Stealing Sheep – Not Real

After missing Stealing Sheep at Field Day, I was very glad to catch them at Tramlines. All my initial hesitation (primarily a result of their more ‘quirky’ videos) was quickly thrown to the side during their first song. Again, definitely a band that need to be seen live to be fully appreciated, but Not Real captures something of what I love about them.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

