The Midweek Mix – 22/07/15 – Tramlines Special

I’m escaping to my hometown of Sheffield this weekend for Tramlines festival. Here are five reyt good acts not to miss if you’re headed there too. Now get me a bottle of Hendo’s and I’ll be on my way.

Martha Reeves & The Vandellas – Nowhere to Run

Motown legend, Martha Reeves, is hitting the Tramlines main stage at age 74 and I cannot wait. I’m even willing to sacrifice seeing Slow Club for her! Nowhere to Run is an absolute classic and I’ve had it in my head ever since it was announced she’d be playing.

Ghostpoet – Sorry My Love, It’s You Not Me

Ghostpoet is the first act of the weekend and I’m really excited to see him live. He’s a great experimenter, and an even better storyteller.

Slaves – Feed the Mantaray

Slaves are simultaneously hilarious and brilliant. Their sets always look so fun and I fully intend to display some mantaray dance moves in the crowd.

Basement Jaxx – Oh My Gosh

Our Saturday night headliners are going to throw me right back to my teenage years. The part of my brain still stuck in 2005 can remember all the words to Oh My Gosh and the accompanying dance moves that my friend and I created. It might take more than a couple of drinks for those moves to be revealed on Saturday night though…

Kate Tempest – Circles

Kate Tempest is a poet, playwright and rapper. Her spoken word performances are incredible and I can’t wait to see what she brings to the stage on Sunday.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

