The Midweek Mix – 29/04/15

Mini Mansions ft. Alex Turner – Vertigo

I saw L.A. band, Mini Mansions, supporting Royal Blood last month and felt I’d got my money’s worth before the main act had even graced the stage. They are on the way up and this bizarre video featuring Alex Turner is surely helping them get there.

Shura – Touch

How many times have I hit repeat on this track? Shura is a huge fan of Blood Orange and it shows.

Florence + The Machine – Ship to Wreck

I’m so happy that Florence is back. Forever one of my favourite artists, her lyrics always seem to tell me what I need to hear or express some vague thought I’ve been pondering for months in a way I never could. The brilliant second single from How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful (out in June) is about our very human tendency to build something only to destroy it.

alt-J – Hunger of the Pine

Almost a year old, and still great. Sing it together: “I’m a female rebel!”

Låpsley – Painter (Valentine)

I’ve left the real treat to the end. This is just perfection. I love the eerie music box sounds – I have always found musical jewellery boxes with their spinning ballerinas particularly haunting – and they work beautifully in this home-produced single from 17-year-old Låpsley. Ideal late night listening.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

